Some interesting facts about the Indian flag:

Some interesting facts about the Indian flag:

With a vibrant tricolor design and iconic Ashoka Chakra, the Indian Flag is a symbol that holds a profound significance within the heart of the nation. Beyond its captivating visual appeal, the flag holds a wealth of intriguing facts and historical significance. Each color, every stripe, and the symbolism they carry reflect India's journey, values, and aspirations. From its design origins to its role in the country's struggle for independence, the Indian flag is a powerful emblem that continues to unite and inspire. In this exploration of interesting facts, we delve into the stories behind the saffron, white, and green, and the dignified presence of the Ashoka Chakra at the center. These facets unveil not just a flag, but a tapestry of history, unity, and hope that flies high over the vast expanse of India's past, present, and future.

The Indian flag holds immense significance as it symbolizes the unity, diversity, and independence of the nation. 

Here are some interesting facts about the Indian flag:

1:Design and Colors: 

The Tiranga is comprised of three horizontal stripes. The top stripe is saffron, the middle stripe is white, and the bottom stripe is green. Each color holds a significant meaning; saffron represents courage and sacrifice, white symbolizes peace and truth, and green signifies fertility and prosperity. The white stripe features a navy blue Ashoka Chakra, or wheel, with 24 spokes, which symbolizes progress and movement.

2:Ashoka Chakra: 

In the center of the white stripe, there is a navy blue Ashoka Chakra, a 24-spoked wheel. This wheel represents the constant progress and movement of the nation.

3:Adoption Date: 

The Indian National Congress adopted the tricolor flag on July 22, 1947. It was hoisted publicly on August 15, 1947, when India gained independence from British rule.


The design of the flag was conceptualized by Pingali Venkayya, an Indian freedom fighter, and geologist. He presented the idea of the flag to Mahatma Gandhi during the All India Congress Committee session in 1921.

5:Design Changes: 

The original design of the Indian flag had a spinning wheel (charkha) in the center instead of the Ashoka Chakra. It was replaced by the chakra later to avoid any associations with the symbol used by the Indian National Congress.

6:Material and Manufacturing: 

The Indian flag is made from a special type of hand-spun silk called Khadi. It was Mahatma Gandhi's idea to promote the use of Khadi and support the local artisans and craftsmen.

7:Aspect Ratio: 

The aspect ratio of the flag is 2:3, which means the length of the flag is 1.5 times its width.

8:Standardization Rules: 

The Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS) has established strict guidelines for the manufacturing and display of the national flag. These guidelines specify the exact proportions of the flag and its colors.

9:Protocol for Display: 

There is a specific protocol for displaying the Indian flag. It should always be hoisted in a specific manner: saffron at the top, white in the middle, and green at the bottom. The flag should never touch the ground or water, and it should be hoisted at sunrise and lowered at sunset.

10:Flag Hoisting Days: 

The Indian flag is hoisted on various national holidays, including Independence Day (August 15), Republic Day (January 26), and Gandhi Jayanti (October 2).

11:National Emblem: 

The Ashoka Chakra on the flag has 24 spokes, representing the wheel of law as per Emperor Ashoka's lion capital. It signifies the ideals of righteousness, truth, and justice.

12:Largest Human Flag: 

In 2016, India set a Guinness World Record for the largest human flag. Over 50,000 volunteers assembled in a stadium in Chennai to create the Indian flag.

13:Emblem on Official Documents: 

The Indian flag's design is used as the emblem on official government documents, passports, and various government buildings.


The flag is flown at half-mast as a sign of mourning. It is lowered to half of the mast's height as a mark of respect when a prominent national leader or figure passes away.

15:Flag Code of India: 

The Flag Code of India, a compendium of directives about the exhibition and utilization of the national flag, was initially ratified in 2002 and subsequently amended in 2008. It encompasses a wide range of facets concerning the flag's application, with the primary objective of upholding its sanctity and reverence.


The Indian flag's historical evolution and role in the freedom struggle showcase its significance as a unifying symbol for the country. The strict rules and guidelines outlined in the Flag Code of India underline the respect and reverence it commands. Overall, the Indian flag is more than just a piece of cloth; it encapsulates the spirit, diversity, and unity of a nation that has worked tirelessly for its growth, progress, and sovereignty.

These facts highlight the rich history, symbolism, and importance of the Indian national flag as a representation of the nation's values and aspirations.

Also, Read:

*The Titanic, a symbol of luxury and innovation:

*Yoga is free from Copyright, Patents, and Royalty:

*Prime Minister Narendra Modi's Trip to the US:

* Presence of aliens in ancient civilization:

* What will be the future of humankind with AI and robots?

* How Humans will look in the 22nd Century:

"Hello, readers hope you enjoy this article. Let me know in the comment section how you find it and also give your valuable suggestions. Thank you so much for the visit.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post